Occupational Therapy services

The Occupational Therapy service vision is ‘enabling people to get the most out of life’.

The Occupational Therapy Service provides a range of treatments and interventions to patients and clients of all ages. The service is delivered to people with physical disabilities and /or learning disabilities; people with mental health problems and also to children.

Occupational Therapists help people to achieve and maintain independence in such daily living activities as washing or dressing. They may also help people return to work or maintain a healthy social life and support older people remain safe and independent within their own home. Occupational therapists can help children by supporting them to overcome obstacles such as writing difficulties and other learning challenges.

Occupational Therapists work within a variety of models of service including multidisciplinary and integrated teams. The Occupational Therapy Services also provides a Trust wide wheelchair service, based in Ballymena, which delivers a timely, responsive specialist service to both children and adults. This service is delivered through a number of locally accessible clinics held throughout the Trust area.

Occupational Therapy is provided from a range of settings within the Trust including, acute hospitals, mental health hospitals, community settings, resource centres, schools, assessment clinics and people's homes.

The service is primarily provided within normal business hours as well as evenings and weekends as required.

Contact details

Professional Head Occupational Therapy Services
Shane Elliott
Email: shane.elliott@northerntrust.hscni.net

Occupational Therapy Manager - Mental Health
Joy Hammond
Email: joy.hammond@northerntrust.hscni.net

Acute Occupational Therapy Service Lead
Denise Quinn
Email: denise.quinn@northerntrust.hscni.net

Professional Lead Paediatric Service
Sandra Allen
Email: sandra.allen@northerntrust.hscni.net

Acting Community Occupational Therapy Service Lead
David Johnston
Email: david.johnston@northerntrust.hscni.net

Clinical Lead Wheelchair Services
Lynda McCullough
Email: LyndaH.McCullough@northerntrust.hscni.net

Clinical Lead Dementia Occupational Therapy Service
Karen Walls
Email: Karen walls@northerntrust.hscni.net

Clinical Lead for Learning Disability Occupational Therapy Service
Jacqueline Cunningham
Email: Jacqueline.cunningham@northerntrust.hscni.net

Related links

Acute Occupational Therapy Service
Paediatric Occupational Therapy Service
Wheelchair Service
Housing - lifts, ceiling track hoists and adaptations
Dementia Occupational Therapy Service
Community Occupational Therapy Service

Page last updated:13 March 2017