Organisational Structure

Executive Team

The Northern Trust has an Executive Team comprising the Chief Executive and six executive directors.  These are the Director of Operations, Medicine, Nursing, Social Work, Finance/Deputy Chief Executive and the Director of Human Resources, Organisation Development and Corporate Communications.

Our Executive Directors

Divisional structure

Our services are delivered through seven operational divisions:

  • Integrated Care
  • Community Care
  • Surgical and Clinical Services
  • Medicine and Emergency Medicine
  • Mental Health, Learning and Community Wellbeing
  • Women, Children and Families
  • Strategic Development and Business Services

Each division is headed by a divisional director, reporting to the Deputy Chief Executive and Director of Operations.

One of Divisional directors, the Director of Women, Children and Families Division, is also the Director of Social Work and a member of the Executive Team, reporting to the Chief Executive.

Other Directors / Divisional Directors

Corporate Governance

Our Trust Board is constituted by the Department of Health and is responsible for the strategic direction and control of the Trust.  The Board is the primary Governing Body of the Trust.

Executive Directors and Non-Executive Directors are members of the Board.

Other Directors and Divisional Directors also attend Trust Board meetings.


Share this page

Investors In People