Urological cancer includes cancer of the bladder, penis, prostate, kidney and testicles. Bladder and kidney cancer can affect both men and women, whilst cancer of the penis, prostate and testicles affects men only.

The Trust provides a diagnostic and specific treatment service of urological cancer patients

Urological cancer diagram

Diagram: Cancer Research UK

Types of urological cancer

There are five main types of cancer that are classified as a urological cancer:

  • Bladder cancer – a growth of abnormal tissue known as a tumour develops in the lining of the bladder. In some cases the tumour spreads into the surrounding muscles
  • Penile cancer – a rare type of cancer that occurs in the skin or tissues of the penis
  • Prostate cancer – cancer that forms in tissues of the prostate (a gland in the male reproductive system found below the bladder and in front of the rectum)
  • Renal (kidney) cancer – cancer of the tissues of the organ that is primarily responsible for the removal of waste products from the body
  • Testicular cancer – a cancer that develops in the testicles, a part of the male reproductive system

Rarer types of urological cancer

  • Urethra cancer – a rare type of cancer affecting the male or female urethra, the tube connecting the urinary bladder to the genitals
  • Ureter cancer – is cancer of the cells that line the inside of the muscular tubes that propel urine from the kidneys to the bladder

The Trust offers rapid advice, diagnosis and treatment to patients displaying symptoms of a urological cancer and has a specialist team that will see you from referral from a GP or bowel screening service to diagnose and treat your urological cancer.

Our Cancer Services team is here to support you every step of the way.

This urological cancer section on our website takes you through your urological cancer pathway within the Trust and provides you with the information and support you will need throughout your journey.

Share this page

Email Icon Print Icon

Investors In People